Newbridge Memorial Hall
This hall was built in the 1920s to commemorate the 75 men from Newbridge who died in the First World War. It was opened in March 1925.
A Welcome Home Committee was formed in Newbridge in 1918 to celebrate the return of local men from war service. The men who had died were not overlooked, and the committee decided in 1923 to build a memorial hall. The Institute building – next door to the hall – was used as security for the mortgage which paid for the hall’s construction.
The auditorium occupying most of the interior was designed for use as a theatre and a cinema. Below it is a ballroom. The interior is a fine example of the Art Deco style which was popular in the 1920s. The original features are so well preserved that the building is listed Grade II*.
The “Memo”, as the building is fondly known, reopened in 2014 after renovation.
Newbridge’s war dead are also commemorated by the town’s war memorial. Click here to discover who they were.
Postcode: NP11 4FJ View Location Map