Powys War Memorials Project

pows war memorial sponsors logos Powys county logo


Powys War Memorials Project 2014-18: A Mark of Respect

This project was launched to coincide with the centenary of the First World War. Powys County Council secured funding from the Heritage Lottery Fund, Cadw (the Welsh Government's historic environment service) and the Brecon Beacons National Park Authority for the project.

Elements of the project include: identifying, mapping and recording all war memorials in Powys; encouraging and enabling local communities to carry out research about people named on war memorials; developing a series of walks and trails for people to explore the war memorials; and creating a project website with information about Powys’ war memorials.

Click here to visit the project website.

In support of the project, HistoryPoints has created QR codes and corresponding web pages for war memorials and other places which have a connection to the First World War. These are listed below – click on any of the places in the list to see our web page about that location.

In Llandrindod Wells, Brecon and Talgarth, we have connected web pages to form self-guided tours of the town centres which anyone can follow, using the QR codes and their smartphone or tablet, to discover how the First World War affected each town. Click here for an introduction to the tours.

Powys War Memorials Project HiPoints

logo of Powys war memorial project

War memorial - Detalis of men and women named on the cenotaph
Memorial gates - Erected in 1953 in memory of the dead of both world wars

War memorial - Details of men named on memorial outside Community Hall

Llanwrtyd Wells
War memorial - Discover who is named on the plaques in the memorial institute

Llandrindod Wells
Holy Trinity Church – War memorials here include a stained glass window
Radnorshire Museum – FWW exhibits include dog tag of local soldier who died in 1918
Former Red Cross hospital – The Red Cross took over this spa hotel during the war
Former Ye Wells Hotel – An army billet in FWW. The landlady lost two sons in the war
Belgian refugees’ home site – One Belgian schoolboy heroically saved a girl from injury
Grand Pavilion – Wartime activities here included fundraising to help war horses and dogs
Hotel Metropole – Home of Royal Army Medical Corps officers in 1915-16
Red Cross trees – planted in 1946 to commemorate wartime rural Red Cross fundraising
Quaker meeting house – Has a memorial Bible. Some worshippers were conscientious objectors
County Buildings – Courts martial and conscription tribunals were held here in FWW
Tabernacle chapel - Contains war memorials where three brohers are named
County School war memorials - Now at the High School, they name pupils who died in service
Cemetery war graves & inscriptions - Read about the men buried or commemorated
Presbyterian chapel - Contains war memorials. The first was given by parents who lost two sons
The Albert Hall - Where RAMC men competed in young people's eisteddfodau

War memorial

War memorial
War graves in churchyard - including graves of a brother and sister
Tower Hotel - landlady had four sons in service in the war. One was killed by a sniper
Town Hall - speeches at 1914 recruitment meeting were followed by a rush of men eager to enlist
Market Square - pastor who preached in square tried several times to enlist. Died soon after reaching Western Front
Former British School - headmaster compiled roll of honour of 95 pupils in 1915. One of his sons buried in war grave 1921
Former Upper Lion Inn - home to two brothers killed in the war
Red House - home to shop manager and popular preacher JC Powell, killed in 1917
Former Horse and Jockey Inn - was a shop by 1917, when Mary Williams lost her son Willie in war
4 New Street - a Military Medal recipient lived here with his young family before his death in 1917

Army Drill Hall - hundreds of recruits got their first taste of army life at the Drill Hall on this site
Brecon RFC clubhouse -  one of the club's former players was in first-ever Wales rugby team, and died in action in 1915
Christ College - many ex-pupils died in the war. A refugee Belgian professor became French master in 1914
Former Angel Hotel - now the RAFA Club. Angel Hotel was kept by parents of a Land Girl honoured for her wartime farm work
Former Griffin Inn - licensee TJ Barratt lost his son Arthur in the Battle of the Somme, 1916, but wasn’t informed till two years later
Former Green Dragon hotel - proprietor lost her son in the war and was fined in 1919 for breaking maximum food prices
Guildhall - venue for First World War fundraising events and appeal hearings against military conscription
Kensington Chapel - lost four members of the congregation in the war, including its organist
Plough Chapel - first chapel on site was built in 1699. Contains memorial to congregation members lost in First World War
Presbyterian Church - built in 1860s. Congregation members named on First World War Roll of Honour in vestry
War memorials in Cathedral - VC winners and local police are among those honoured