HistoryPoints News

Jun 9, 2013

Milling around in St Dogmaels

The water mill at St Dogmaels, Pembrokeshire, existed in the 1640s and may have been founded much earlier ...

by monks. The machinery fell silent in 1926, but in the 1970s Michael and Jane Hall began to restore it. They had to scour West Wales for parts, but their efforts were rewarded when the mill began to work again in 1981. Today they still produce flour and rolled oats using the old machinery, which visitors can watch by taking a guided tour of the mill. To read the story, scan the QR codes by the door of the mill, which is close to the Wales Coast Path. Or click here. Francais ici.