Lockley Lodge, near Marloes
The original Lockley Lodge was built in 1928 by Ronald Mathias Lockley (1903-2000) as his mainland base. He lived and farmed on Skokholm island between 1927 and 1939 and wrote numerous books about the wildlife and his life there. His first book Dream Island describes the construction of the building, which was then called Lower Island Lodge.
In 1946, Skokholm Lodge (as the building was renamed) was used as the mainland base for both Skokholm and Skomer. Subsequently it was used by the Lockley family as a holiday home, a practice which continued after Ronald Lockley transferred ownership to the West Wales Naturalists' Trust in 1968.
Renamed Lockley Lodge, the building was opened by the Trust in 1976 as an information centre for the islands and the Marloes peninsula since 1976. It is now operated by the Wildlife Trust of South and West Wales (the WWNT’s successor).
Lockley’s beloved wooden lodge lasted 79 years before it needed such major works that a rebuild was necessary. Funding came from the Heritage Lottery Fund as part of the ‘Skomer Island Heritage Experience’ project. The new building was completed in September 2006.
The Trust carefully replicated the original lodge’s appearance, while including modern facilities and technology. This won the trust an award from Pembrokeshire Coast National Park Authority for use of innovative technology to enhance the public’s understanding and enjoyment of the park.
Lockley Lodge is busiest in early summer, when many people buy tickets here for day trips to Skomer. Breeding puffins are the star attraction, but the island offers a wealth of other wildlife sightings, at various times in the year. A screen in Lockley Lodge enables people to see live images from cameras at key locations on Skomer.
Postcode: SA62 3BJ