Old stable block, Betws-y-coed

button-theme-evaclink to welsh translationOld stable block, Betws-y-coed

This quadrangle is testament to the rapid growth of tourism in Betws-y-coed in the 19th century as roads were improved and the railway arrived in 1868. These stables were constructed for the horses and equipment kept by the Royal Oak Hotel for coach trips. These took guests to local beauty spots, and included trips over the mountain passes to Llanberis and Beddgelert. The Royal Oak employed its own coachmen for the purpose. The coach trips survived the opening of the Conwy Valley railway because there were no railways running from Betws-y-coed up the Llugwy Valley.

During the Second World War, pupils from the evacuated Dulwich Preparatory School attended lessons in the stables buildings. The school’s base was in the Royal Oak. As well as studying, the boys helped with various war-related tasks, including collecting moss from nearby woodlands for use in making dressings for wounds.

In 1953 the stables became home to Betws-y-coed’s first fire station. A hose-reel tender and trailer pump were based here.

Now the building houses Snowdonia National Park’s visitor information centre and offices for national park wardens. In some of the rooms, craft workers demonstrate their skills and display and sell their handiwork.

Where is this HiPoint?

Postcode: LL24 0AH

Website of Snowdonia national park