Old stable block, Betws-y-coed
This quadrangle is testament to the rapid growth of tourism in Betws-y-coed in the 19th century as roads were improved and the railway arrived in 1868. These stables were constructed for the horses and equipment kept by the Royal Oak Hotel for coach trips. These took guests to local beauty spots, and included trips over the mountain passes to Llanberis and Beddgelert. The Royal Oak employed its own coachmen for the purpose. The coach trips survived the opening of the Conwy Valley railway because there were no railways running from Betws-y-coed up the Llugwy Valley.
In 1953 the stables became home to Betws-y-coed’s first fire station. A hose-reel tender and trailer pump were based here.
Now the building houses Snowdonia National Park’s visitor information centre and offices for national park wardens. In some of the rooms, craft workers demonstrate their skills and display and sell their handiwork.
Postcode: LL24 0AH